Phone: 01423 862999

The Vardon Grip Trophy 2018 is now open for booking.

The History of the Vardon Grip

In 1908 The Open Championship was held at Prestwick. It was won by James Braid. Immediately following The Open and to mark the extensions to the Harrogate clubhouse, a special exhibition was held at the Harrogate Golf Club comprising:

Harry Vardon, born in Grouville, Jersey and one of the greatest names in the history of the game, upon which he had a most profound effect including that of the most universally used grip which bears his name.

Arnaud Massey, the reigning Open Champion and only continental player to hold the Open title until Severiano Ballesteros 70 years later.

Edward Ray, another Channel Islander, won the Open once and was runner-up twice. He was the last British player to win both the Open and the US Open in the same year until Tony Jacklin in 1970.

J H Taylor, a Devonian who won the Open 5 times and was runner-up 5 times.

The plaster cast of Vardon’s famous hands was taken after the exhibition match and kept in Percy Hill's professional shop until It then passed to Harry Crapper and then to his son Jack Crapper who gifted it to the club in 1978.

A marble replica of the grip has been made for the club by La Pacida, marble specialists of Harrogate and will be available for all to see as a firm handshake with the past and in recognition of the Club's connections with some of the most famous golfing greats of all time.

The 2018 Vardon Grip Trophy will be held on 5th September 2018. This is a 36 hole amateur men's competition with a maximum handicap limit of 5. Go to to book your place online.

Past winners:

2017 Ben Firth

2016 David Hague

2015 David Holding

2014 Adam Chapman


BRS Login


Get in Touch
Contact Us


Visitors Online Booking
Quick access to Visitors Online Booking System

Book Now

Academy Membership
"Get into Golf" the all new Academy Membership.